The Brotherhood of Olympus and the Deadliest Game (Guy T. Simpson, Jr.)

24 Sep

 

Mythic Publishing
26 September 2012 | softcover: 286 pages
MG – mythology – adventure

 

Brotherhood of Olympus

 

3.5 Squinkles

 

This is a story about five brothers who have always been close, but who find themselves drifting apart. The sudden and tragic death of their uncle, Wally, who was an integral and beloved part of their family, is the catalyst for the brothers discovering latent aspects of themselves that are both unbelievable and unwelcome. The brothers must band together, however, as the fate of the world rests in their hands.

 

The blurb on the back of the book makes the plot seem less complicated than it actually is. The premise is interesting enough, but there are so many side stories that I found it hard to keep track of them all at first. Once I got a hold of everyone’s identities, it was much easier to follow the various story lines. Bits of the story did seem to drag on sometimes, and the book could be tightened up a little in that respect. The five brothers have distinct personalities, and I enjoyed getting to know each of them. I am not particularly fond of them calling one another “dill-hole”, however: it seems to stretch the whole brotherly teasing a bit far, but I suppose Simpson’s other readers would say that it’s just sibling love. The family matriarch and patriarch intrigue me, so if a follow-up is penned, I’d like to know more about them and their history.

 

The story takes place in the Pacific Northwest, specifically Aberdeen, WA. The picture on the cover is from 1965, and many of the descriptions in the book reflect this time period (music on the radio, car types, store prices, etc.). The biggest issue I have with this novel is the writing. I can’t get over how many grammar and punctuation errors there are. If there are any mistakes in any novel, they ought to be few and far between, and certainly not things like constantly spelling the Bee Gees as “the Beegee’s”. It’d be great for the next installment to undergo a more thorough proofreading process. In contrast, one really great thing about this book is the calibre of Simpson’s illustrations. The small, hand-drawn images that serve to highlight the content of each chapter are fantastically detailed and delightful.

 

Although I haven’t given this book the greatest rating, there was definitely more I liked about it than I disliked about it.  I definitely would be interested in reading Simpson’s next installment, and I’m sure other readers will thoroughly enjoy the adventures of the brotherhood!

 

Shelf Life - Borrow

 

Teachers, are you looking for potential teachables?
Find me here.

 

Thank you, Mythic Publishing, for sending me a copy of The Brotherhood of Olympus and the Deadliest Game.  All opinions and suggestions expressed herein are entirely my own; I received no compensation for them.
One Response to “The Brotherhood of Olympus and the Deadliest Game (Guy T. Simpson, Jr.)”

  1. Liviania 2013.10.02 at 9:40 am #

    Ugh, I can’t stand constant grammatical errors.

    Like

Thoughts?

