Matilda (Roald Dahl)

26 Jun

MatildaI’m glad some of you got a chance to read this book as well as see the movie. Matilda is quite charming, no? And yes, there were bits of the book that were a little strange, but it was a nice read all the same. Let’s hope we don’t encounter too many Trunchbulls in our lives!

Many of you wondered about how “real” Matilda’s character is.  Granted, I don’t know any five-year-olds who behave the way she does, but there’s probably one or two out there.  A lot of you liked Matilda, but you couldn’t decide why.  Is it because she is insanely intelligent for her age?  Or maybe it’s because she’s unbelievably patient (which I know I’M not)?  Or, and this is my personal favourite, maybe because she’s got a bit of a predilection for exacting revenge.  Now, I’m not necessarily the type of person to get someone back, but I sometimes wish I had a bit more gumption in me to at least think of how I might do it.  This dilemma reminds me of the question that my home girl, Anne-with-an-E, poses: “Which would you rather be if you had the choice—divinely beautiful or dazzlingly clever or angelically good?”  Which trait would you rather have?

 

 

Roald Dahl’s Online Corners

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Chapters

One Response to “Matilda (Roald Dahl)”

  1. Anastasia 2014.06.28 at 2:27 am #

    Nice review! I liked Matilda simply because she is as voracious reader as I am. I think I would choose dazzlingly clever because with that maybe I could achieve the rest haha. Which one would you choose?

    Like

Thoughts?

