The Lightning Thief: The Graphic Novel (Rick Riordan, Robert Venditti, José Villarrubia, Attila Futaki)

28 Jun

Lightning Thief - GNI had been waiting and waiting for the graphic novel version of The Lightning Thief, so I was très excitée to get my hands on this! If you were in my grade 9 class, I know how much you enjoyed using this and the movie to comprise our media studies unit, so I hope you finish this series. The rest of the graphic novels are just as witty, thought-provoking, and well-drawn as this one.

Aren’t graphic novels the best? I know there are many parents and even teachers out there who can’t find enough value in them, but I think they’re fantastic for getting kids hooked onto reading. And for those of you who think that they’re “just a bunch of pictures”, let me tell you … SO MUCH HAPPENS in those pictures. And let me tell you something else … SO MUCH HAPPENS between the frames. The choices that the writers and artists have to make about what to include, what to exclude, and how to present everything just boggle my mind. I can’t even decide between a Caramel Crunch Frappuccino and a Mocha Cookie Crumble Frappuccino, and these guys have way more serious decisions to make! If you haven’t gotten hooked onto graphic novels yet, try this one for starters. I’m sure you’ll love it.

 

 

Online Corners You May Be Interested In

Rick Riordan:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Chapters

Robert Venditti: Website | Facebook | Twitter

José Villarrubia: Facebook | Twitter

Attila Futaki: Website | Facebook

Thoughts?

