The Copernicus Legacy #1: The Forbidden Stone (Tony Abbott)

14 Oct

Copernicus Legacy - Forbidden Stone

 

Sometimes, I really wonder how I get so lucky discovering Great Reads. This time, I was doubly lucky, for not only did I discover a seriously unputdownable book, but I was sent a galley of it by the publisher. And, Squinks, let me tell you: for a hard-core bookworm like me, galleys of a fabulous story are more valuable—and more highly treasured—than any first-edition copy out there. After the third chapter of The Forbidden Stone, the first in a series of six novels and six interstitial novellas by Tony Abbott, I knew that I held a rare gem in my hands. How rare? I ran to Chapters to buy an official copy just so I could preserve my galley as best as possible (though, sadly, it had been dented in the mail before it reached me)!

Why did I purchase multiple copies of The Forbidden Stone for our library even before I had finished reading it? Because I knew you would all love it as much as I do! Let me tell you about it …

 

Copernicus Legacy

 

The Forbidden Stone is about four friends who unwittingly find themselves in a heart-pounding treasure hunt. Wade and Darrell are stepbrothers who, along with Wade’s dad (Roald), cousin (Lily), and her friend (Becca), travel to Germany for the funeral of Wade’s honorary uncle (Henry). Not-really-uncle Uncle Henry was Roald’s erstwhile professor and benefactor of Wade’s most cherished possession—a 17th-century star chart. Sound like a run-of-the-mill story? Well, Abbott keeps you on your toes, starting from the very first chapter. Check out these plot peeks:

1. Uncle Henry sends Roald a coded message the day he dies.

2. The only way to decode the message is to check Wade’s star chart, which Uncle Henry sent him for his seventh birthday.

3. A building collapses in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and an oil tanker sinks in the Mediterranean all around the same time as Uncle Henry’s coded message.

4. When they get to the funeral in Germany, strange people are watching their every move.

Not since the multi-author, multi-platform, multi-series 39 Clues saga have I been as excited to start another adventure series like this … and that’s saying a lot, considering you know how highly I regard The 39 Clues books and authors. Pick up The Forbidden Stone and mark on your calendars the release dates of the rest of the books. (The first novella, Wade and the Scorpion’s Claw, released this summer, and the second book, The Serpent’s Curse, came out just a couple of weeks ago!)  Join Wade, Darrell, Lily, and Becca for the adventure of a lifetime and discover more about the Copernicus Legacy.

 

Copernicus Legacy - Join the Hunt

 

 

Tony Abbott’s Online Corners
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Chapters

By the way, does Tony Abbott’s name sound familiar (besides being the name of that other guy who’s currently the prime minister of Australia)? That’s because he’s also the author of the totally awesome Secrets of Droon series!

 
Thank you, Katherine Tegen Books and Harper Collins for sending me a copy of
The Forbidden Stone.  All opinions and suggestions expressed herein are
entirely my own; I received no compensation for them.
Thoughts?

