The War that Saved My Life (Kimberly Brubaker Bradley)

20 Feb

War that Saved My Life  

Hey Squad,

I’ve got a lovely new book to tell you about. The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley has quickly become one of my favourite MG titles, and from the first page, I think you’ll understand why. It’s the story of Ada and Jamie, two children living in London at the outbreak of the Second World War. They’re not orphans, but they may as well be for the way their mom treats them. Right off the bat, we find out that Ada has a club foot, so she’s not allowed to go outside lest she cause her mother shame. Ada spends her days watching her brother go off to school because, according to their mom, “he ain’t a cripple like you” (1). Her whole life, Ada has stayed indoors, learned to “walk” using her hands, taken care of Jamie, and been more of a servant than a child to her mom. When the London government starts sending children to the countryside to keep them away from potential bombings, it begins a new chapter in Ada’s life, one in which she learns that not all adults hit children when they’re upset, having been born with a physical deformity is not the person’s fault, and people’s real families are not always the ones they’re born into, but the people whom they choose to let in.

Ada is a wonderfully sweet heroine, full of the spunk I expect from young and strong female characters. She’s protective of and fiercely loyal to her brother. She’s open to new adventures and seeing the best in others, but she’s also vigilant and aware of other people’s capacity to hurt. She’s also got razor-sharp with, which I not-so-secretly admire!

I’m so thankful this book came into my radar and I had the chance to read it, and now that I think about it, part of the reason it really resonated with me is that Ada’s spirit bears more than a striking resemblance to that of another favourite heroine of mine – Anne-with-an-E!

Be on the lookout for this title to appear on our library shelves soon, and let me know if you love Ada as much as I do!

 

5 Squinkles 

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley’s Online Corners
Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Chapters

 

Thank you, Penguin Canada, for sending me a copy of The War that Saved My Life.  All opinions and suggestions expressed herein are entirely my own; I received no compensation for them.

2 Responses to “The War that Saved My Life (Kimberly Brubaker Bradley)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mon ami thé #4 | squinklebooks - 2015.04.03

    […] The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley [courage, determination, spunk, siblings, wartime] […]

    Like

  2. Echo (Pam Muñoz Ryan) | squinklebooks - 2015.05.06

    […] World War.  I get very emotional imagining the lives of children whenever wars are involved (The War that Saved My Life did the same for me).  Or maybe I just wanted to find out what Eins’, Zwei’s, and Drei’s […]

    Like

Thoughts?

