L is for the Little Prince, which, I know, should really be highlighted under the letter P.  But I have so many titles fighting for that spot, so here it is instead.  If you have yet to delight in Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s words (translated or not), I envy you for the wonderful journey that still looms before you.  What is great about Le petit prince is that it absolutely matters when you read it.  It will hold different revelations for you depending on whether you read it as a child, a teenager, or an adult.  So much of the value that this book gives depends on the experiences the reader has had, which makes it a true classic.  There’s something for all people across the ages!

 

L - Little Prince

[Loosely translated: We have to see the world anew.  This drawing, for example, is not of a hat.  What is it, then?  Well, surely, it’s of an elephant – an elephant inside a bad snake (boa).  And the rose that frustrates me … Do you think that we are enemies?  But she is my best friend, my heart, and the love of my beautiful life.  So, here are some important words to bear in mind: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly (for what is essential is invisible to the eye).]

 

Have you read the Little Prince?  When did you first encounter the boy from Asteroid B-612?

Thoughts?