Bookcation 2015 #6: Super Shark Encyclopedia

17 Jul

If you missed last week’s celebration of all things shark, otherwise known as Shark Week, here’s a great book to help abate your disappointment. My love for DK grows more and more every school year with each of their awesome non-fic titles, and Super Shark Encyclopedia and Other Creatures of the Deep (pubbed June 2015) fits snugly in my list of great DK books.

 

Super Shark Encyclopedia 

All my Squinks loved looking through this trove of information, and while some people enjoyed reading the pages devoted to the different sharks and other sea creatures that infest our ocean waters, a great many more loved simply looking (and admiring) the colourful (and sometimes icky) illustrations on almost every page.

My favourite feature was the one-off box found on some of the pages, which called out a particular species and gave just enough trivia to interest me in reading more. Here’s an example:

 

Super Shark Encyclopedia - Plankton Plunderer 

Your fellow Squinks and I had a lively debate about this one: Is it cute or creepy? You tell me.

 

Super Shark Encyclopedia - Demon Stinger

 

There’s so much to learn here, that it can easily take you the entire summer to truly digest the meaty Super Shark Encyclopedia. But I bet you’ll love it so much that it won’t take you very long to go through it. But I bet, just as much, that you’ll come back to this book over and over again because of the valuable resource that this is.

I anticipate long waiting lists to borrow this book from our library. Better sign it out now!  (These stinging battleships remind me of OOD, by the way.)

 

Super Shark Encyclopedia - Excerpt 2

 

Thank you, DK Publishing, for sending me a copy of Super Shark Encyclopedia in exchange for an honest review.
All opinions and suggestions expressed herein are entirely my own.

Thoughts?

